Pickford’s House museum, a Grade One listed building, situated at 41 Friar Gate, Derby, close to the City Centre, was built by the prominent architect Joseph Pickford in 1770 as a family home.
It aims to offer visitors an insight into everyday middle-class life during the 1830’s. Inside are the displays include a magnificent early 19th century kitchen and scullery, an elegant dining room, breakfast room, master bedroom and the maid’s quarters at the top of the house. There is an excellent collection of costumes, some dating back to the mid 18th century. The museum holds temporary exhibitions as well as other displays, which deal with the history of the Friar Gate area and Joseph Pickford as a Derby architect. At the rear of the house is a laid out period 18th century garden.