Normanton consists essentially of two parts, Old Normanton, built up around the Village street area of Derby and New Normanton which starts at the junction of Babbington Lane, Burton Road and Normanton Road and continuing down Normanton Road, along Upperdale road to the Cavendish.
Normanton Barracks at the top end of Sinfin Lane, was built to house the 95th Derbyshire Regiment. It closed in 1963 and was demolished in 1982, later to be replaced by Forester Park, with its new supermarkets, bowling alley, Showcase cinema, fast food outlets and the Oast House Hotel.
Normanton recreation ground was opened in 1909 and continues to this day to provide sporting and leisure facilities for all. Several pubs serve this part of Normanton including the Norman Arms and the Sherwood Forester Hotel in St. Thomas Road.
New Normanton began life in the 19th century and was almost exclusively artisan and ‘petit bourgeois’ in those days. It deteriorated somewhat after the Second World War but a program of regeneration in the 1990’s has done much to improve the area. If you are looking for stores selling Asian and other multi cultural goods try the Normanton part of Derby where there is a vast array of ethnic foods and goods on offer as well as a multitude of ethnic restaurants.